Titre purpose

The astonishing expansion of the art market and the increased promotion of culture over the course of the past thirty years – notably caused by the growth in the international exchange of art and cultural property - have raised numerous legal questions which explain why an institution specializing in the study of art law was created.

Because of the idiosyncratic legal problems that have emerged in the province of art and culture, art law has more and more become a branch of law in and of itself. It encompasses all the aspects of law that are connected with the creation, exhibition, reproduction, sale and transfer of property of both works of art and cultural objects. Art law also intersects with legal fields as varied as international law (both public and private), property law, copyright, insurance, customs and tax law.

Because the goal of the Art-Law Centre is to promote and coordinate research and work on the most current questions of art law, it has chosen an interdisciplinary approach by including people from both the art world and the legal world. The Centre can thus better diffuse its competence and information directly to the public, as well as to specifically interested entities (such as artists, collectors, auction houses, dealers, museums, etc.). In fact, the Centre is often requested by public and private entities to render legal opinions relating to specific issues of interest.

Titre objectifs

L’étonnante expansion du marché de l’art, conjuguée à une promotion accrue de la culture, depuis les trente dernières années – en raison notamment de l’augmentation des échanges internationaux en matière d’art et de biens culturels – ont fait surgir un nombre croissant de questions juridiques qui explique la création d’une institution dédiée à l’étude du droit de l’art.

Les questions juridiques relatives au domaine de l’art et de la culture, de par leurs spécificités, peuvent être considérées de plus en plus comme une branche du droit à part entière. Ce domaine couvre tous les aspects juridiques en lien avec la création, l’exposition, la reproduction, la vente, le transfert des œuvres d’art comme des biens culturels. Qui plus est, le droit de l’art recoupe des champs juridiques aussi variés que le droit international (public et privé), les droits réels, les droits d’auteur, le droit des assurances, le droit douanier ou encore le droit fiscal.

Le but du Centre du droit de l’art est de promouvoir et de coordonner des recherches et des travaux sur des questions actuelles du droit de l’art selon une approche interdisciplinaire qui inclut des personnes du monde du droit et du monde de l’art. Le Centre est ainsi à même de diffuser au mieux ses compétences et ses informations directement auprès du public comme auprès des entités spécifiquement intéressées (par exemple les artistes, les collectionneurs, les maisons de vente aux enchères, les marchands d’art, les musées, etc.). De plus, le Centre est souvent sollicité par des entités publiques ou privées pour rendre des avis de droit.

top