Titre presentation

The Art-Law Centre headquartered in Geneva, pursues teaching and research activities in the field of art and cultural property law.

The Art-Law Centre's activities were first held under the auspices of the Art-Law Foundation, founded in 1991. The Centre has been fully integrated within the Faculty of Law of the University of Geneva since summer 2009, while it continues to receive support from the Art-Law Foundation.

The teaching activities of the Centre are primarily intended for Bachelor and Master of Law students from the University of Geneva. A general course (“Art law and cultural property: Swiss, comparative and international aspects”) is offered each academic year. Since 2013, an advanced course (“International law on the protection of cultural property”) is also taught to master level students within the framework of the UNESCO Chair. Moreover, a more specific course entitled “The law of archaeology and museums: Swiss and international aspects” is designed for the students in the Faculty of Arts.

As for the research activities, they consist in organizing multidisciplinary and international symposia (twice a year), publications (25 volumes published in the “Studies in Art-Law” series), directing doctoral theses and participating in research programs, two of which resulted in the elaboration of:

  • the Comparative dictionary in cultural heritage law, directed by M. Cornu, J. Fromageau, C. Wallaert, Paris (CNRS Editions) 2012;
  • the “ArThemis” database on the settlement of disputes over cultural property, www.unige.ch/art-adr

The Art-Law Centre also provides consultancy to various Swiss authorities (Federal Office of Culture, cantonal museums and local cultural administrations, Swiss Commission for UNESCO, etc.) and international bodies (UNESCO, Unidroit, ICCROM) within the framework of special projects (UNESCO Committee of Experts, Diplomatic Conference for the adoption of the Unidroit Convention on Stolen or Illegally Exported Cultural Objects of 1995, etc.).

Titre présentation

Le Centre universitaire du droit de l’art a pour activités l’enseignement et la recherche en matière de droit de l’art et des biens culturels.

Les activités du Centre eurent tout d’abord lieu sous l’égide de la Fondation pour le droit de l’art, créée en 1991. Depuis l’été 2009, le Centre est pleinement intégré à la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Genève, tout en continuant de bénéficier du soutien de la Fondation.

Les activités d’enseignement du Centre sont destinées en priorité aux étudiants de bachelor et de master en droit de l’Université de Genève. Un enseignement de base (« Droit de l’art et des biens culturels : aspects suisses, comparatifs et internationaux ») est dispensé chaque année. Un cours plus avancé (« Droit de la protection internationale des biens culturels ») est également donné aux étudiants de master depuis 2013, dans le cadre de la Chaire UNESCO. Par ailleurs, un cours spécifique (« Droit de l’archéologie et des musées : Aspects suisses et internationaux ») s’adresse aux étudiants de la Faculté des Lettres.

Quant aux activités de recherche, elles se manifestent par l’organisation de Colloques pluridisciplinaires et internationaux (deux par année), par des publications (Série des Etudes en droit de l’art avec 25 ouvrages parus), par la direction de thèses de doctorat et la participation à des programmes de recherches. L’on citera plus particulièrement deux résultats obtenus dans le cadre de ces programmes :

  • Le Dictionnaire comparé du droit du patrimoine culturel, coordonné par M. Cornu, J. Fromageau, C. Wallaert, Paris (CNRS Editions) 2012
  • La plateforme « ArThemis » sur la résolution des litiges en matière de biens culturels, www.unige.ch/art-adr

Le Centre et sa direction sont amenés à jouer le rôle de consultant dans différentes enceintes suisses (Office fédéral de la Culture, Administrations culturelles et musées cantonaux, Commission suisse de l’UNESCO, etc.) et internationales (UNESCO, Unidroit, ICCROM) à l’occasion de projets spécifiques (Comités d’experts de l’UNESCO, Conférence diplomatique ayant amené à l’adoption de la Convention d’Unidroit de 1995 sur les biens culturels volés ou illicitement exportés, etc.).

top