UNESCO chair

unesco

The University of Geneva (UNIGE) through its Faculty of Law and the United Nations educational, scientific and cultural organization (UNESCO) signed an agreement concerning the establishment of a UNESCO chair in the international law of the protection of cultural heritage. The chair has been placed under the direction of Marc-André Renold, professor at the Faculty of Law and director of the Geneva Art-Law Centre. The team of the Art-Law Centre participates in the functioning of the Chair as well.

Based at the UNIGE, this chair completes the activities of the Art-Law Centre and thus reinforces the key role played by the University in the fields of art and cultural property law. The Chair focuses both on teaching and on research, its goal being to enrich UNIGE’s offers in this domain. Moreover, the UNESCO programme UNITWIN (University Twinning and Networking), conceived to develop networks between universities, will facilitate international collaborations in this field.

logo

The Chair has been officially inaugurated on November 19th, 2012, with a conference to which Mr. Francesco Bandarin, UNESCO’s Assistant Director-General for Culture, Mr. Jean-Frédéric Jauslin, Director of the Swiss Federal Office for culture and several other personalities participated. A symposium organized by the Geneva Art-Law Centre took place prior to ceremony.

top

Chaire UNESCO

unesco

L’Université de Genève, par sa Faculté de droit, et l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) ont signé un accord visant à établir une chaire en droit international de la protection des biens culturels. Celle-ci a été placée sous la responsabilité de Marc-André Renold, professeur à la Faculté de droit et directeur du Centre du droit de l’art. L’équipe du Centre du droit de l’art participe également au fonctionnement de la Chaire.

La Chaire vient compléter les activités du Centre et de ce fait renforce le rôle de l’UNIGE dans le domaine du droit de l’art et des biens culturels. Composée de deux volets, l’un axé sur l’enseignement et l’autre sur la recherche, la Chaire a pour objectif d’enrichir l’offre de formation dans ce domaine et d’encourager la recherche. UNITWIN (University Twinning and Networking), le programme de l’UNESCO conçu pour mettre en réseau les universités, facilitera, en outre, les collaborations internationales.

logo

La Chaire a été officiellement inaugurée le 19 novembre 2012 à l’occasion d’une conférence organisée avec des interventions de Francesco Bandarin, sous-directeur général pour la culture à l’UNESCO, de Jean-Frédéric Jauslin, directeur de l’Office fédéral de la culture et de plusieurs autres personnalités. Un colloque scientifique organisé par le Centre universitaire du droit de l’art a précédé l’inauguration.

top